Disrobed

IMG_8345

 

This morning,
I read my coffee,
Drank the paper.
Dawns are better messy,
And nights are better off confused.
I want to
Keep things that way.

People stronger than me
Have needed a chiropractor,
To readjust their back
After sleeping the way I do.
I’m not a gamble, dear
You can count on me
To disappear
But I’ll wait until the morning
So it feels like
I almost stayed.

You spend a short night here,
While your button-down
Flung over the door stays
For a few days.
A relic of 2 AM disrobing,
It hangs like a ghost of lovers past,
It, and I, weary of moving against
The shape of a man
For a lifetime.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

