Before You Gave Up

street

The ocean groans
A lover’s moan
While I’m safe at home
With the person I’ve grown into.

There’s no wind, no cries
No sin.
This is how the end begins.

You’re a worn-out cliche,
I’m weary of another day;
I burned my calendars last year.
I don’t know what’s coming,
And the unknown, I fear.

I’m drinking from cracked coffee cups
And reading novels you wrote
Before you gave up
– Before you gave up.
The glass bits in my fingers
They bleed and they linger,
And I don’t mind.

She said, “I’m pragmatic,
I can live through the static.
I’ll pray for nirvana and heaven
in the same breath.

I’m an eagle, I’m a raven,
The sky is my haven
And I cave in
– I cave in
— I cave in.”

The world began with a big bang
And I slightly suspect we’ll die the same
Drowning in icy smiles and broken hands
And poorly-laid out apocalypse plans.

I’m standing right here when we go.
Where do you stand?

Where do you stand?

I was watching her heartbeat
With every single breath
And thinking of an old age
We’d never get.
No rocking chairs or picket fences
So I drew picket signs
Against stolen time.
Because she’d never be mine
– She’d never be mine.

I’m drinking from cracked coffee cups
And reading novels you wrote
Before you gave up
– Before you gave up.
The glass bits in my fingers
They bleed and they linger,
And I don’t mind.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

