Restless; Or, Cheers to Being 20 and Stupid.

55c40587a39762838f425a886b8f72fd

Bring the night,
Its reckless cold
To comfort and warm
My bitter soul.

To lead my arms
In an embrace of day
To leave my mind,
my soul
To decay.

My veins are
roadmaps
to my heart
My body is a broken
place to start
As I search
for a place to be alone.
I’ve shattered
and re-shattered my bones
Until my ribs will make
My lungs a decent home.

I’ve left my organs to play
music on their own.
I can’t breathe in symphony
With the restless rest of me.

So, to chaos and to
Cacophony
I sing
And sleep within
The melody
It brings

To heart-incisions
and poor decisions
I drink
Lest I sober my mind
And begin to think.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Restless; Or, Cheers to Being 20 and Stupid.

  1. S.C. Hickman says:

    Nice use of rhythm and jazz lines… sadness prevails. Hope all is well and this is just fiction πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. inkposts says:

    Good stuff. It sounds more depressing than stupid! I’m glad when I was 20 life was more upbeat πŸ˜‰ and I hope yours is a bit more sweet sometimes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

